7 Chakras and Health

No Comments

Human chakra system

In Hindu philosophy and yoga system Nadi is an important concept. Nadis are said to carry life force known as prana. These are channels for so called cosmic, mental and intellectual energies. There are 3 important Nadis: ida – lies left to the spine, pingala – lies to the right of the spine, and sushumna – runs along the spinal cord in the center and passes through all the 7 chakras of the body.

The chakras are formed at the junctions of these nadis and there are seven fundamental chakras in the body. Each chakra is related to one organ or system of the body and provide the energy for it’s function The flow of energy through these chakras determines our health.

1. Root Chakra – Muladhara

It is located at the base of spine in perineum region, between anal outlet and the genital organ. This is your foundation and whatever grounds you to stability. This includes your basic primal needs like food, water, shelter etc. Root chakra is believed to be linked to adrenal medulla responsible for fight or flight response and thus regulate mechanisms for the physical survival. If your energies are dominant in muladhara, then dominant factors in your life will be food and sleep. If there is imbalance in this chakra then you may experience anxiety disorders, fears or defensiveness. Simple physical activity like walking or dancing helps to balance the Root chakra.

2. Sacral chakra – Swadhisthana

It is located just above the genital organ and below the navel. Sacral chakra corresponds to the sex hormones responsible for reproductive functions. Our outward awareness of others and feeling of other people are through swadhisthana. This chakra is associated with sense of abundance, pleasure and sexuality. If your energies are dominant in swadhisthana, then pleasure will be dominant in your life. Blockage of this chakra may cause emotional problems and guilt. Hip opening exercises, dancing and learning to let go of the things will be having beneficial effects on the sacral chakra.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipuraka

It is located just above the navel. Manipuraka is linked to islets of langerhans in pancreas, which play important role in digestion and energy production. Emotions, personal power, self worth and self-confidence are related to this chakra. If your energies are dominant in manipuraka, you are an action oriented person. Imbalance in this chakra makes you angry, frustrated and directionless. Keeping the digestive fire healthy by eating only adequate quantity of non spicy food and consuming water at room temperature will be beneficial.

4. Heart Chakra – Anahata

It is located at the center of chest just above heart. This is the bridge between our lower and higher energies. Anahata is said to be associated with thymus, which is responsible for disease prevention. This chakra controls our feeling of love and inner peace. If your energies are dominant in anahata you are a creative person. Blockage of heart chakra manifests as one being in-compassionate and lacking moral or principled behavior. To heal the Anahata chakra practice gratitude and have a change of perspective focusing on the positive things in your life.

5. Throat Chakra – Vishuddhi

It is located at the pit of the throat. This chakra control our expression of feelings, that is communication. Thyroid gland which is responsible for growth is associated with this. If your energies are dominant in vishuddhi you will become very powerful. Dishonesty or lack of communication may be caused if there is imbalance here. Hip opening exercises, water consumption and singing could help but more importantly all chakras from heart chakra and above could be balanced only by way of mindful meditation.

6. Third Eye Chakra – Ajana

It is located between the eyebrows and is the seat of intuition. Imagination and wisdom are related to this chakra. It is at this chakra that the ida and pingala terminates merges with the central nadi sushumna and philosophically signifies the end of dualities of nature. This chakra is linked to pituitary gland. If your energies are dominant in ajana then you are an intellectual person. If this chakra is blocked then lack of forward vision and mental rigidity will be there.

7. Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

It is located at the top of the head. As the name implies thousands, Sahasrara is also called Brahmarandhra or the door to God. It is from this chakra that all other chakras emanates. Radiance of all other chakras fade in comparison with this chakra. This chakra represents the highest level of consciousness and enlightenment. The element of sahasrara is Adi Anadi, meaning without beginning and without end. Our spirituality and connection with higher self is possible when energies flow through this chakra. If your energies are dominant in sahasrara then you become very ecstatic and in highest state possible.

The path of progression through the chakras by the process of yoga, meditation and changing thoughts and consciousness is not an easy task. One need to leave many old habits and way of living for finding one’s purpose and union of the soul with the super-soul. Most important thing is that this spiritual progression is possible with complete devotion, faith and dedication to God, Super-Soul or Universe, whatever you call him.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *